## RECOGNITION OF FIFTY YEARS: OUR SECTION AND LONG-TIME MEMBERS

This year, our Section of SRM is fifty-nine years of age. Approved by the American Society of Range Management in January of 1950, it came into existence as a result of the effort primarily of six men. These Californians, including the first Section officers were: Wayne Austin, Harold Biswell, Waldo Wood, Jay Bentley, Merton Love, and Joseph Snyder. Dr. Harold Biswell was instrumental in developing the Section constitution and bylaws; Waldo Wood served as President.

Fifty years ago, 1959-2008 inclusive, Harold Miller was President; Lyle Green, President-Elect; and Burgess (Bud) Kay was Secretary; Council (Board) members included C. Carlson, J. Thornton, L. Berry, A. Schultz, and R.M. Love. Dues were \$8.00 and membership had grown to 263; the annual meeting was held in Berkeley November 9-10. The ASRM annual meeting had been held in January, 1959 in Tulsa, OK and attended by California members R.M. Love, W. Howard, C. McKell, J. Woolfolk, J. Cholis, and H. Miller; W. Williams and B. Crampton coached our plant judging team at Tulsa. Section and California rangeland management issues in 1959 included: brush and oak removal methods, new range improvement grass and clover species trials, range fertilization, multiple-use, bitterbrush values, and game habitat management.

At least ten of our Section members, including four who are still continuous (paid) members, joined in, or before, 1959. Drs. William A. Williams (now deceased) and Walter Howard, who joined in 1950, received 50-Year member recognition and awards in 1999 (Barstow). W. Howard (1950), Dr. Harold Heady (1952), Paul Madonna (1956), and Don Neal (1959) remain on our Section role this year (2008), the latter three deserving of Section recognition for a half-century of continuous membership and support!

The other five who joined before 1959 were active participants in our Section, but have retired, or are now SRM members in other States. These men are Burgess Kay (1956), Cyrus McKell (1956), Tom Bedell (1957), Ray Evans (1957), and Charles Graham (1958).

A few old-time Section members who joined before 1960 and were on our role sheet for about, or nearly, 50 years, but have passed away in the recent decade include Al Murphy (1950), Jay Bentley (1950), Jim Mallory (1952), Bob Powell (1953), Doug Probst (1956), Ray Ratliff (1958), and Ted Adams (1959). [Let's hope yours' truly, Historian (1960), Jim Clawson (1964), and Neal McDougald (1965), all still Section members, make 50 year status of some sort.] Gus Hormay (1907-1999) and Harold Heady (1916-present) have proved to be our Section's oldest (90+) in years of age and may be considered, with

A.W.Sampson (1884-1967), as the most widely-recognized of Californians in SRM. All three have been recipients of SRM awards of merit, as had old-timers Harold Biswell and Les Berry.

Do the names of the gentlemen in the preceding appear familiar? Many will, if you have been a member of our Section for 20 years or more, or recognize their names from a literature search. All of these fellows, and the men and women who worked with them, form, in part, our Section heritage, and our California rangeland management history. Let us this year honor Harold Heady (retired, UC Berkeley), Paul Madonna (rancher, SLO Co.), and Don Neal (retired, USFS-PSWFRES, Fresno) for their persistent and muchappreciated support of the California-Pacific Section of SRM.

John V. Stechman	
Section Historian	
	JVS 7/24/08